current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




The new American terrorist dictatorship

April 28, 2003 ~ 10:19 p.m.

LONDON, U.K.�My mother�s car was keyed and her windshield busted this past Friday. Anyone�s initial thought would be, jeez, do you have any enemies, ma? The answer to which is, yes.

Her fellow �Americans,� that�s who.

My mother�s crime was to have a flag flying from the roof of her car. A guestbook entry I received from plastroncafe actually tried to put the onus on extreme right-wingers upset that my mother was subjecting a flag to the outside elements. I see. So every single flag flapping in the breeze of every business, home and town center is an automatic breach of the rules regarding flag treatment? The idea, apparently, is that flags should be treated like pets�bring them in when the weather gets inclement. It�s fascinating just how deep some people will dig in order to deny the obvious, even personifying inanimate objects.

Sorry, Angie, but I�m not buying it.

My mother was the victim of the unofficial police state in America: pissed-off un-Americans�content to live off the riches of the country�taking the law into their own hands to discredit all forms of patriotism, even�actually, especially�by violence. Forget Osama bin Laden. Forget Saddam and North Korea. The real terrorists are certain U.S. citizens, the ones who think it�s just fine and dandy to hope for a thousand more Mogadishu-type incidents, a thousand more September the 11th atrocities, the ones who have poisoned the younger generations� minds with revisionist history and hurl their own shit at you for daring to support your country.

In other words, this whole �peace� movement and anyone who has ever been a part of it.


And in case you think that was a harsh statement, I quote Linda Chavez who argues that concerning the anti-war movement:

�[G]uilt-by-association is appropriate when one chooses to march alongside those who promote violence and hatred. Advocating violence against America�s elected leaders, lying about the United States� motives or conduct in the war, and punishing ordinary Americans in order to send a political message aren�t legitimate forms of protest for the patriotic American who objects to this war.�

If you choose to run propaganda from these same types of terrorists, then don�t tell me, �You don�t know me, I am against violence.� Because the evidence points to the contrary, friends. My mother was an ordinary American punished by an un-American with an axe to grind. And unless you�ve been very careful to disassociate yourself from these psychopaths and been unrelentingly consistent about it, then I will laud you. But for every single person I know who�s been arguing against the war, I will not be lauding anyone very soon. For every �you don�t know me� I get, the more the words from the people they choose to speak for them speak much louder than their own words.

I have tried to convince my mom not to give in, to keep flying the flag proudly, but she shot back, �What, and risk not having a car at all?� I am saddened. The �peace� movement has delivered her a message and she�s been terrorized into heeding it out of fear of what they�ll do to her car�or possibly herself�next.

Welcome to the new dictatorship in America where no-one�s allowed to be a patriot anymore. And, I fear, because nobody knows their history and can�t be bothered to learn it (far easier to shout �no blood for oil� and pretend that you�re a paragon of knowledge), things are only going to get worse.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-