current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




Christmas frivolities

December 26, 2005 ~ 4:39 p.m.

Well, did you all have a Merry Consumerist Christmas, stuck indoors with people who are too quick to argue and don't have the slightest idea what Christmas really means?

Not I. A very quiet, low-key Christmas here, which is just how I like it.

It all started on Christmas Eve. Earlier in the day, I went into central London to buy some more gifts for the wife. Yes, I left it till the last minute, such is my utter disdain for shopping. But I was successful. I got her a large, pretty card, Robbie Williams' new album Intensive Care, a new pair of fishnet tights (to go along with the blouse I'd already bought as a Christmas present for her in France two weeks ago), a book on British mammals, and a box of Neurofen Plus (painkillers containing ibuprofen and codeine). I had her open the box of pills first on Christmas morning. It was hilarious. She probably thought the rest of her gifts were going to be as mundane!

I received, from various folks, but mostly the wife: A book called "The Dragon Machine," a dragon figurine, a digital radio with a pack of 8 batteries to go with it, "High Rhulain," the lastest Redwall novel, a chocolate chess set, a box of whisky chocolates, a black knapsack, and the (excellent) movie Eight Men Out on DVD.

My mother-in-law Jo spent Christmas with us and it so happens that we're pet-sitting for a friend, so there's a few more rodents hanging around the apartment than usual ...

And let's not mention how I dressed up in a short "sexy Santa" dress for a bit of Christmas Day pantomime ... yeah, we won't mention that ...!

Hope you had a good Christmas.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-