current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




If this is honestly what it takes, count me in

February 28, 2003 ~ 2:17 p.m.

It�s getting to the point where I am convinced that I should act on my beliefs. That is, put my marriage and life here in England on hold, return to the States and join the military. And just not any branch, but the one, true-blue, uncompromising Marines.

Never in my life have I felt such a need and such a wanting to be one of the Few Good Men as I do now. I have never considered myself a military man, and my own dad, a former Marine, told me he never expected me to join and wouldn�t be disappointed if I didn�t.

But do not underestimate how seriously I take this whole matter of Iraq, terror and anti-Americanism. At least fighting and possibly dying for the country that gave me a great life and a fabulous upbringing would give me great peace of mind and the chance to prove to just what lengths I will go to prove myself a patriot and an unwavering supporter of this war.

Bruce Willis may have been told he was too old for conscription, but I�m thirty-three. The age limit is 34; I'm still young enough. My flat feet, near-sightedness and dependence on anti-anxiety meds might disqualify me on the spot anyway.

But I keep thinking, it would be enough to at least try. It'd certainly go a much longer way toward proving myself than hanging around a college in England with airy-fairy students and professors.

I don�t care if you�re against the war. Support the soldiers. They are doing their job which is protecting your freedom to sit around in cafes with peace symbols around your necks, after all. Try being a conscientious dissenter in Iraq. Do the words �covered in blood� adequately describe the horror enough for you?

Go troops, go USA!

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-