current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




Let not the users suffer in this War on Drugs

February 14, 2003 ~ 11:24 p.m.

OK, I owe you all an explanation: Pure curiosity doesn't totally explain why I smoked some joints in Amsterdam. Although finding my first of three spliffs at my feet upon stepping outside the hotel was too good to pass up, I had other reasons for lighting up the drug. Mainly:

(1) I am very much still a rebel at heart, and just because I am a steadfast conservative doesn't mean that I am a stuffed shirt. I have a devilish enough fun-loving spirit to know that passing up the opportunity to smoke the shit in a place where it's virtually legal amounts to heresy.

(2) I did it in half-protest/half-tribute to all those recreational marijuana users sitting in prison watching rapists and murderers get freed before them. If I have any bone to pick with America, it's the ridiculously harsh sentences that users of marijuana receive. Dealers are a different story, but punishing the users as we do is a disgrace. So, as an American, I lit up, and as the third spliff burned down to the filter, I stood by the canal and said under my breath, "Take that, you sadistic Nazis." I blow smoke in the direction of all those in power who put such punishing, draconian laws in place.

I came away from Amsterdam believing that marijuana should be legalized for prescription medicine to those suffering from cancer or other serious illnesses/diseases. And that possession of marijuana should carry only a $100 fine; second possession should carry a $200 fine and community service; and that a third possession offense should incur a 30-day prison sentence. None of this five- to ten-year bullshit. Take a stance against marijuana as you see fit, but the American judicial system is truly warped with respect to cannabis.

As George Carlin once noted, "We're all just dopey creatures, and we have all these drugs available to us." If only the American government could understand this. Punish the dealers, not the users. Lighten up, if not light up, for fuck's sake! Or else, this War on Drugs can never come to any good.


Speaking of a war on drugs and punishing users, a Welsh policeman, Chief Constable Terry Grange, was asked what his policy versus drug dealers�the sort of scum who think nothing of selling heroin to 12-year-olds on school grounds�and the policeman answered honestly:

"What I would like to say to them is: 'If you would be so kind as to stand up against that wall for a minute.' Then I'd be shouting, 'Load, aim, fire.' Personally, I'd shoot."

Now that's a hero. That is the sort of straight thinking we need to tackle crime and the influx of drugs. With all the dealers lying in a pool of their own blood, there'd be no users to have to punish.

I realize that Constable Grange's policy upsets the holier-than-thou, self-righteous liberals who think everyone in this world can be reformed. To which I answer, FUCK YOU. It's not your children getting painfully, and often fatally, addicted to crack or smack in your lilly-white suburban areas, is it?

With politically correct tossers standing in our way, the War on Drugs can never come to any good either.


For your reading pleasure, a poem I wrote this afternoon on the train home:

Jacques Chirac/Is a wimp on Iraq

And the Germans want out/Because Schroeder is a Sour Kraut

And they don't want to fight in Brussels/Because they entirely lack the muscles

They haven't got the guts to protect Turkey, a solid friend/They'd rather that she meet her bitter end

And could it be that Berlusconi/Might turn out to be a phoney?

One thing about this War on Terror/It's shows that faith in our European "allies" is a real error.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-