current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




The thank-you list, and the Golden �Arnold� State

August 07, 2003 ~ 11:19 p.m.

This entry will save me from having to write out many a guestbook entry. So I will take care of business right here on this page:

Thank you, livefan91200 (La Penseuse), laylagoddess (Layla), roklobster (Rok), verdant-life (Eden), and belle-tn (Belle) for your well wishes on my trip and for your warm welcome home to the States. My vacation home has been everything I expected it to be so far and I still have ten beautiful days left. Yea me!

My most recent entry on cannabis generated quite a bit of feedback, and I�d like to thank dreamyautumn (Shannon), mr-knowitall (Rick), Belle, and La Penseuse for chiming in with their pro-legalization views. La Penseuse offered this swipe at the Prohibitionists: ��When will this Prohibition end? When will we be given freedom of choice and drug laws that make even an iota of sense?�...When stupid people stop breeding!� Shannon said that at the very least, it makes sense to use the drug for medicinal purposes, although she wouldn�t care if it were legalized period. Rick asked, �It�s okay to get drunk, but not to get stoned? What's the difference?� and went on to add, �We all make our own choices, and I choose not to partake of either. I don�t need the government to make that choice for me.� And Belle offered pretty much the same argument by writing, �[I] don�t see the reasoning behind leaving alcohol legal and making marijuana illegal. At least people seem (to my mind) to be safer to get high on cannabis rather than to get drunk.� Thanks for the back-up, folks, and you all get gold nightdragon stars!

When I joked that the Beatles would make great Supreme Court justices based some of the lyrics to their song �Revolution,� La Penseuse wrote, �I could just imagine... they all walk in stoned off their asses and in the middle of some discussion, Ringo stands up and is like �Hey, chums, we should call Domino�s, I�m craving some munchies right now.� That would be classic.� I like that!

I�m thinking about Arnold Schwarzenegger and his gubernatorial bid for California. Although I don�t agree with his socially liberal, Nelson Rockefeller style Republicanism, and that Rush Limbaugh is surely correct when he says that Arnold is not the next Ronald Reagan, still�conservative talk-radio host Howie Carr reckons that it would be good to put Arnold in there, slash away at the mess, and try to turn the state around. Even if he wants business revenue to throw at daycare, might Arnold be a true Terminator while sitting in the big seat in Sacramento? I don�t know. It would only be four years, and as Carr notes, �reformers don�t last.� Frankly, I�m leaning towards hoping that Schwarzenegger gets in just to piss off Katie Couric who made out that somehow Arnold was a bigger womanizer than Clinton could ever hope to be, and noted that Arnold smoked marijuana. Maybe Arnold smoked it because his father was a Nazi, eh, Katie? You tell us, you piss-ant liberal know-it-all.

God, things sure getting interesting in California.

Well, that�s it from here, for now. The Red Sox just swept the Angels at Fenway, completing what could definitely be termed an action-packed series, and they improve to 67-42. Can you say �Pennant Feee-vahhh?�

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-