current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




An entry for a Wednesday afternoon

October 23, 2002 ~ 4:02 p.m.

Remember when I congratulated the London Underground twits for the tube strike last month. About what a great lifestyle change they forced me into undertaking? Well, I�ve gotten lazy again. I have reverted back to hitting the snooze button a million times until 7:50, leaping out of the covers, getting dressed, packing my swim stuff, and ZOOM! Is that a bird or a plane? Why, it�s a nightdragon, hoping against all hope that he won�t miss his 08:12 train into Victoria.

Not fun. And it gets worse when you have to walk a mile down the platform � because you boarded the train all the way down to its rear because it was the only way of getting a seat � and then push your way through the crowd, mostly composed of six-foot slowpokes � what is it with tall people anyway, that they always seem to move like tortoises? At 5-foot-8, I put these people to absolute shame.

Once you�ve maneuvered your way past the dinosaurs, you come to discover that Victoria Station is closed due to overcrowding on the platforms and you cool your heels irritably for five minutes or longer � watching precious minutes of your trek into work melt away � while a flurry of shrill cell phone tunes ring behind you. Inevitably, they are always answered by the sort of dopes who seem to find the humor in every situation.

�Hiya, hehehe, well I�m stuck just outside of Victoria Station. Yeah, oh yeah, hehehehe. If I fix �im a strong enough cuppa, he won�t mind me being late, yeehehehe.�

Oh my God, I have had enough. I am going to start getting up at 5 a.m. again, just as I did for two weeks. In retrospect, it was the best two weeks of my life.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-