current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




And the winners are ...

July 12, 2003 ~ 10:56 p.m.

Well, I�ve received enough responses to my which-is-the-lie challenge to congratulate the winners and mention the losers.

The winners were verdant-life and livefan91200, who correctly guessed the kidney stones. The kidney stones weren�t a total lie. But I�ll explain why later.

tattodnanny surmised that my love for hot and sticky weather was the untruth. Heh. Well, ma�am, please read this entry or this one to see how wrong you were. But thanks for playing the game.

This early entry will show the error of flinnt�s, treewillow�s, buenacabra�s and widower�s guesses. The whole entry isn�t about my fear of blood but it certainly does touch upon it. Recently, I watched an episode of Holby City, a British medical drama, where they performed a Caesarian on a woman and blood just gushed out like a friggin� geyser from the incision. I ran out of the living room screaming. �Nuff said.

I�m surprised no-one thought that my bass-playing days with a high school band, performing a regular circuit among the coffeehouses of Cambridge, was the lie. I�ve obviously given the impression that I�m a competent musician. Actually, I�m simply OK at singing, playing the drums and the bass. In fact, I had to fill in on drums and pass the bass to our rhythm guitarist when our drummer suddenly collapsed from the onset of a bad flu. That was fun. I�m trying to distinguish between 1/16th, 1/8th and 1/4th rhythms, and I know them being a bassist, but when you�ve got about ten drums in front of you and you don�t have much experience with them, you�re torn between Stewart Copeland�s philosophy that the snare is the most important drum and concentrate totally on that or the heavy-metal thrash style which dictates that a series of toms must be hit after every refrain. I went tom-tom crazy. Trattaa-pluffa-de-pluffa-de-thok-thok-doom. I even turned to jazz brushes at one point and everybody�s mouths just opened in disbelief. It�s hard to get into a rock�n�roll groove when the drummer is going thick-fa-thick-fa-thick. The experience taught me, stick to the bass, kid.

The kidney stones was the correct guess, but as I say, it isn�t a total lie. I have had two kidney stone attacks, but the key word is �severe.� My first attack had me on my knees, retching and crying and scared beyond belief. I didn�t even know what was wrong with me until I went to the doctor�s. The second attack came about nine months later, but it was much milder and I knew how to deal with it.

So again, congrats to Eden and Eileen.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-