current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




Bring on the spring

February 25, 2003 ~ 9:09 a.m.

My gosh, I knew last night was pretty warm but it got a bit surreal when I saw the broad, insectile form lumbering across the hallway carpet. A moth. It was slow and sluggish and wasn�t followed through the window by its own scaly-winged paramilitary as on summer nights. But it wasn�t one of those closet dwellers either. This was a night moth from the great outdoors.

I cupped it up in my hands, switched off the kitchen light and threw it back out the window. And there, at the window, I just sort of lingered, taking in fresh but distinctly spring-like air.

I saw a dandelion yesterday. Not one of the robust types like you find in April, fighting for � and often winning � space on the lawn. It was small and scraggly. And I have seen dandelions in late February across the pond as well. Nothing unusual there, really.

Well, what if I told you that daffodils are blooming? Cherry trees are in full bloom, showering the sidewalks with pink petals. The horsechestnuts will be in full leaf within two weeks.

These mornings of late, I am regularly woken up by the sun pouring through the window at 7 a.m. I think to myself, shouldn�t it still be dark? Strange thing to think when I know full well that the spring equinox is less than a month away. In addition to the mornings, I find myself a bit wondrous at the fact that it�s still respectably light at 5:30 p.m.

The real test is waking up in the morning and not needing the heat. The bedroom is no longer bollocks-shrinking cold. This is a good sign.

A sign of spring � and, inexorably, and hopefully early, summer.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-