current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




A discourse on Speedo wearing

May 24, 2003 ~ 8:21 p.m.

Well, friends, it was bound to happen sometime�I got Google-searched for �speedos in the park.� Now, I don�t quite know the story behind that, but my diary was brought up on the first page of the search. It dug up an entry I wrote last year in July during the midst of a summer warm-up in which I mentioned that I would be enjoying some sunbathing. Needless to say, Speedos are my garment of choice for that. And laugh if you will, but ever since I came to England, I knew my shorts-down-past-the-knee days were over. There�s not much I admire about Europe, but the average European�s ability to see Speedos as practical rather than skimpy things that only egotistical and/or exhibitionist men wear is laudable. And for Americans who think that guys who wear them are �fags,� then you clearly haven�t seen pictures of World War II Marines hanging around in swim briefs on break at the beach. I know this because my grandmother took these pictures during her stint in the forces in the �40s. Call those fellas �fags� and you'd have ended up with an all-gums smile.

Besides, if I remember correctly, during my many hours spent on the beach by the Baie des Anges two weeks ago, I received many an approving glance by women. So much for the �Speedos don�t attract girls� theory. My only advice to American girls is this: stop acting as if you can wear whatever you feel like but that men should be limited in their fashion choices. This is a reverse form of sexism that has always infuriated me, and at least I�ve got the balls, no pun intended, to admit it.

In fact, it�s been said that the French will laugh and sneer at you if you wear ridiculous American-style swim shorts poolside or at the beach. Imagine that, something I am totally in approval with the French people about! But this is one French attitude I can embrace without hesitation.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-