current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




Shopping in my slippers (and why I miss the snow)

January 26, 2004 ~ 8:17 p.m.

Jeez, I hafta say � I love living in a neighborhood where the convenience store is so close, I can walk there in my slippers. It�s a surreal experience to walk around the local shop in nighttime foot wear, but hell�am I seriously expected to tie up my sneakers for a trip and a transaction that will take less than five minutes?

Well, bugger that.

I also love living where it�s so warm in January that I can perform outdoor errands in shorts without freezing my legs off. Now, it�s not warm. The temperature right now, at 8:15 p.m., is a brisk 41� F (5� C). But I know of folks in New England and the Midwest who would probably kill for temperatures like that right about now. And to these folks I would like to say: neener-neener! It�s brisk here, but at least it�s not subarctic.

I found it quite amusing yesterday afternoon when I compared the Boston temperature to the conditions in London. The temperature in Boston: 12� F; in London: 52� F. In Celsius? -11� vs. 11�. Yep, science can be a source of humor.

I tell you what sucks about winter here, though�a distinct lack of snow. The storm we had last year was phenomenal. We get the cold, the damp, the wind, the clouds (yesterday was the first time I�d seen the sun for, I believe, a whole week), and quite a bit of rain. Almost never any snow. Not even a damned flurry.

Winter to me used to mean snow. But then I came to England and found out that there�s such a thing as only just winter.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-