current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




Random thoughts on a mild October night

October 09, 2003 ~ 12:36 a.m.

Thinking about Rush Limbaugh, which I�ve done in quite sufficient quantity as of late, I realize that he must be punished by his core audience. We on the Right have to expect quality from our spokespersons and Limbaugh did not do us any favors. Limbaugh is not exactly in a position to be entirely discredited in the way that Bill Bennett was. He really has nothing to apologize for: his comments about Donovan McNabb lacked tact but were based on what he interpreted as racial media bias, and his drug abuse happened because, at the end of the day, he is only a man. But he must speak up and stop acting as if the scrutiny being paid to him is of little consequence. Admit to your faults and move on, Rush! Or you may well deserve the fate that awaits you if you don�t. This is the last I�ll have to say about Mr. Limbaugh. The ball�s entirely in his court now.


In other news, my beloved BoSox are beginning their series with those dirty Yanks tonight. Boston is really in a groove right now, a very aggressive team whose offense had led the majors all season long; you could argue that New York�s pitching is better, but only very slightly so, for the Yankees have had starting pitching and bullpen problems too. This is not 1978 or 1999�this is a Red Sox team that will finally break their curse, ripping New York�s head off and ramming it up their ass. We beat New York and we�re shoo-ins for a World Series title. No doubt about it. Whoever wins the National League�Cubs or Marlins, doesn�t matter�had better watch out.
I�ve just seen a lacewing. It is an unusually warm night�more like late August than early October�and, as such, the summer insects are having one last romp before winter really sets in. I don�t normally like insects, but lacewings are quite delicate, intelligent looking insects. I can�t help but adore them. They are in the same class of what I call �good� insects: ladybugs, dragonflies and butterflies/moths. I let the little creature scuttle up and down my arm before putting him back outdoors where he belongs.
Ugh, 12:20 a.m. I stay up far too late. Ciao for now.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-