current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




In baseball, there are no players, only whores

February 17, 2004 ~ 3:06 p.m.

AMSTERDAM, The Netherlands -- Amazing. Let me get this straight: Alex Rodriguez wouldn't accept what the Red Sox offered so he could continue to play the position at which he's considered among the elite, but he did accept the Yankees' offer to play third base? When you think of third baseman, you don't think of Alex Rodriguez. Why would he give up the position that defined him as a player?

I'm not saying Alex Rodriguez couldn't make the switch. The reason he's talented is because he is athletic. But does that automatically mean he's versatile?

Yankees money speaks. That's why Alex left Texas, after all. I suspected all along that Rodriguez wasn't happy with the Rangers.

It's a shame. Rodriguez was one of my favorite players in the game. But accepting a position with the Yankees in a position which he has never professionally played is akin to spreading one's legs good and wide for the ultimate corporate fuck. Alex Rodriguez is George Steinbrenner's latest whore.

And what's scary is that there are plenty more out there who will follow in his shoes.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-