current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




CDG Paris, the album cover airport

September 21, 2003 ~ 5:51 a.m.

We got some pictures developed on Friday and the Paris photos were among them. Remember our trip there two weeks ago? Most of the photos I took were of a nature that I�d rather not share�the end result of too much red wine, strong French codeine, unsavory thoughts and a late night adrenaline rush. No, not that! Get your minds out of the gutter. I used up most of the film snapping photos of drunk French people along the Boulevard de Strasbourg in the dark of night, while hazily under the influence myself. I had intended to make a gallery entitled, �Thank God These People Opposed the War� for my American friends to chortle at, but instead I ended up with a collection of streetlight blurs instead of silly Gauls muttering, �Je vais boire plus de absinthe, bien s�r.�

However, I managed to take two salvageable photos:

These are the escalators in Terminal 1 of Charles de Gaulle International Airport. I was first here in February 1999, on my first ever visit to Paris, when I discovered that I was passing through the scene of an album cover:

I wanted to come back and gawk at the setting once more. When CDG Airport opened in 1974, it was considered a visionary, futuristic building. Now, Terminal 1 looks like one huge concrete stadium and many say the set-up is too confusing. While I admit that the building looks like a post-modernist nightmare from the outside that completely dwarfs the other, newer terminals, the inside still has the best layout of many airports that I have seen. Indeed, the rotary design is actually helpful. But that�s just my take on it. Some want to take a wrecking ball to the place and start over. I hope that will never happen.

It was a good weekend. Just not one to be commemorated in the family album.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-