current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




Flag burning is not considered treason, but it should be

January 22, 2005 ~ 6:52 p.m.

Witnessed today on a bumper sticker: DEFEND AMERICA, Defeat Bush! As Christ Himself once said, �Forgive them. They know not what they do.� I�d prefer the Lord actually speak for me in this instance as what I am inclined to say would be far too profane.

Just to clarify what I wrote in my last entry. I didn�t mean that, as the law currently stands, burning the flag is treason. What I meant was that it should be treated as such. I am aware that the Supreme Court, as recently as 1989, upheld flag burning as a form of symbolic expression protected by the First Amendment. Even though I don�t agree with the highest court in the land on this issue, I will defer to their judgment.

That isn�t to say, however, that such a law cannot be overturned. I definitely give my full support toward an Anti-Flag Burning Amendment: �The Congress and the States shall have Power to Prohibit the Physical Desecration of the Flag of the United States.� This is my desire. That flag represents the sacrifices of too many citizens and patriots to disrespect it as such. Only the military, and only for purposes of old flag disposal, should be exempted from this Amendment.


Welcome, Blizzard of 2005

In case you�re wondering how I�m getting on, well, we�ve had temperatures in the single digits to lower 20s all week long. It�s OK when the wind is not blowing, but, when it�s this cold, even the slightest breeze stings the face. It�s truly brutal. But, in a perverse way, fun.

And do you want to talk fun? Well, we�ve got a gargantuan monster of a storm on the way. My mother is fretting that this will be another 1978. Well, I lived through that blizzard too and I don�t think it will ever be topped. That storm was nothing less than an act of God. However, I do feel this could very easily be another 1997.

And where will I be during all this heavy snowfall, white-out conditions and possible hurricane force winds? Helping my brother-in-law plow and shovel his customer�s driveways and sidewalks. He says we could be out there for two days working.

This will be a test of my New England blood. I have been living for the past six years in a country where 2 inches of snow equals a blizzard, one day in the 80s is called a heatwave, and any wind over 25 mph is a hurricane. Pathetic!

This, ladies and gents, is weather! Bring it on!

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-