current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




�Tomorrow�s another day��I sure hope so

June 18, 2003 ~ 5:00 p.m.

Don�t even ask how my day went.

Could have been worse, but consider:

I am broke. Haven�t got a dime (or a 10p) to my name until payday which is not until frigging Tuesday. I had a bowl of cereal this morning. And that�s all I�ve had.

I was treated to the spectacle of one of co-workers totally blowing a gasket. After four days of warm and humid conditions, the office is stifling. Especially the small room we�re in. So he went to talk with building maintenance and got the brush off. Only when he came back to the office did he blow off steam.

�I am fucking sick to death of these people who just sit on their fucking arses and don�t give a damn. These are not comfortable temperatures to be working in. There are four of us in here in this little room! Yeah, it may be fine for them, but it�s not fucking fine for us. I just don�t fucking care anymore.�

I have never heard the word �fucking� used so much by my associate boss before today. His tirade, while not at all directed at me or anyone else, was, nevertheless, a bit unnerving.

Then I had yet another dentist�s appointment. Just a drill-and-fill, but I was told not to consume anything for three hours. Shit! Not that I could eat anyway, but I really wanted a cup of coffee to counteract the Valium I took (I feel asleep in the waiting room).

Then, to really top my day off, a worker from an agency that we use to set up rooms for examinations didn�t show up. Guess who was nominated for the bullwork? So I spent two hours, on an empty tank and groggy with Valium, moving heavy desks, tables and chairs around in the multidisciplinary laboratory. Fuck!

I am no weakling. But I was lugging heavy shit around for two hours. While it certainly helped keep me occupied and the resultant exercise flushed some of the tranquilizer from my system, I am now left wiped. Having finally sat down, I don�t know if I can get back up.

Now I�ve got the 5 o�clock central London rush-hour to deal with. And I�ve only got half a bottle of red wine waiting at home.

Nope. This was not my day.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-