current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




New books to read ...

November 20, 2004 ~ 7:42 p.m.

I went into London today for a dentist�s appointment. I had part one of a gruelling root canal done on one of my bottom teeth. So, as a consolation prize to myself, I decided to get myself a couple of books.

Now I�ve long complained that British bookstores give one reason to think that the English really don�t value true freedom of speech, as their Current Affaris/Politics sections routinely offer only anti-Bush, anti-Blair, anti-war propoganda. No Ann Coulter or Sean Hannity or even Christopher Hitchens (who�s British) anywhere to be seen, but plenty of Bob Woodward, Al Franken and Michael Moore available.

But I found reason for hope today at the Victoria Station W.H. Smith�s bookstore. I found a hardcover edition of a pro-Israel book. The synopsis, which I paraphrase, read along the lines of:

�It is often assumed that any attacks that Israel sustains are because of its treatment of the Palestinians. This is simply not true, which this book explains in great detail.�

So far, so good. It got even better. I found a tome entitled We Did Nothing by Linda Polman, which tears into the �unarmed, unable, uneasy� United Nations. The synopsis reports:

�Throughout the 1990s, our [British] government and its partners in the UN stood by and watched whilst thousands of people were slaughtered.�

As someone who has become a convert to Woodrow Wilson-style, guns-and-butter liberal interventionism (as opposed to the disgusting isolationism of the �caring, human rights-conscious� Left), this was a must-buy.

Finally, I bought a book I�d seen before entitled Blair�s Wars. Even though this is an isolationist, anti-war book, the back cover reveals endorsements by Conservative Michael Portillo, whom I highly respect, and the pro-Iraq War liberal journalist Johann Hari. Also, it doesn�t just tear into the War on Iraq and Blair�s relationship with Bush; it also tackles Blair�s willingness to launch the 1999 assault on Yugoslavia and his closeness with Clinton. It may be an anti-war book, but at least it�s consistent.

I will wait until the book Why Blame Israel? comes out in paperback and then purchase it.

And now that the novocaine is beginning to wear off, I must have dinner and settle down for some deep reading.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-