current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




Ouch, my head! Must be the weekend

November 22, 2002 ~ 12:01 p.m.

One of the Heads of Such-and-such at the university I work at just told me something fascinating. As he stood behind me in the line for coffee at the cafeteria, he imparted his knowledge of something sinister known as �the weekend migraine� to me.

The weekend migraine � at first it sounded like the result of being stuck inside with the wife and the resultant pressure put upon me to do the sort of crap that I could care less about doing, such as going out. But then I was informed that it is a real syndrome, involving very real physical pain.

We�ve all experienced headaches of varying degrees resulting from caffeine withdrawal. But increased pressures at work bring about increased coffee consumption. Our systems are therefore inundated with the stimulant. Now at the weekend, during which we relax or at least pretend to, coffee is limited to one cup in the morning � or in my case, early afternoon � and so as the blood vessels in the head relax, they constrict, thus causing intense pain.

On Fridays, we exclaim �Thank God!� By Sunday, we are muttering �Oh God!�

You could give your body something else to worry about by drinking, but a hangover would just add insult to injury. And when it comes to hangovers, I would like to think I�ve learned my lesson by now.

One question � is it the sort of headache that codeine can kill? That way, I could get high and pain free at the same time. Just like killing two birds with one stone.

I confess: I have never actually experienced the dreaded weekend migraine. I must have a strong system, like the carpenter ant that simple Raid alone cannot get rid of. But I must be prepared. Who knows when my body will decide to call for an internal exterminator?

I will mull the consequences of my third cup of coffee of the day, while sipping my fourth.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-