current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




Neo-conservative�moi?

April 10, 2005 ~ 6:24 a.m.

OK�so, I avidly support the War in Iraq, I supported the invasion of Iraq six months before it actually happened, and therefore, I must surely be a neo-conservative. Right?

While it is true that I support President Bush�s relatively newfangled Wilsonian, guns-and-butter policies, and while it is also true that I am a former liberal myself, I do not answer to the neo-con title. I admire the neo-cons, but that doesn�t make me one of them.

Now, let me explain. There is a third-way traditional conservatism that rejects both the Old Right paleo-cons and the former liberal neo-cons. It�s called the New Right and it has existed for roughly forty years.

So am I a New Rightist? The fusion of libertarianism with traditionalism that such a label encompasses seems tailor made for me. The New Right used to be very anti-Communist too, but these days, anti-Commie fever has been replaced by a staunch anti-terrorist position (as opposed to a sycophantic position, which contemporary liberals are excelling in).

Old Right, New Right, paleo-con, neo-con: What does it all mean? It has never been easy to describe conservatism throughout its existence in American history.

Paleo-cons tend to concern themselves with social issues only and are usually total idiots concerning foreign policy. They also tend to be out-to-lunch with regard to free trade, which is to say, they oppose it. They deny that NAFTA has worked�maybe not spectacularly, but the net benefits have outweighed the drawbacks. They would agree that Australia should never have entered the FTA with America. And even if it weren�t for the WTO, they would have opposed GATT. (I oppose GATT too, but only because of the bureaucractic World Trade Organization.)

As has been noted, the neo-cons are former liberals. And, when it comes to their newfound conservatism, they still believe in throwing money around. They believe in Big Government Conservatism. I think that�s oxymoronic to the nth degree. I want Bush to drastically cut the budget as he has pledged to do. I also want the Administration to back out of areas like alcohol production, medical marijuana, gay civil unions/marriage and euthanasia. These are not issues to be given federal mandates. Let the states decide issues like these.

Neo-cons also don�t concern themselves with immigration which, whether you like it or not, has become a true problem for the U.S. (although, apparently, The Weekly Standard came close to admitting that immigration might pose difficulties). I�m not a �close-the-borders, let�s-have-a-moratorium� type. America needs immigrants; they are our lifeblood. But I want respectable immigration numbers and a clear, cohesive immigration policy. Bush is doing absolutely nothing to control our borders and I find that unacceptable. The President just smiles and wistfully intones, �Aren�t these people wonderful?� Yes, some of them are, but you�re supposed to be protecting us from a terrorist threat, Mr. Bush. With such an open, indiscriminate immigration policy that the U.S. currently works with (it�s not at all indiscriminate if you happen to be white and English is your native language, however), how is this possible? Don�t ask the neo-cons, who just shrug, avert their gaze and ask, �where�s the money?�

There has always been a dichotomy prevalent within the conservative arena, as thisexcellent commentary points out. I do not always agree with my fellow conservatives�whatever �fellow conservatives� is supposed to mean. And they sure don�t always agree with me.

I believe in personal freedom, but also the exercise of personal responsibility that comes with it. I believe in international democracy, but am eager to see how best it can be managed. I believe in unfettered free trade. I believe in social mores, but want to balance them with libertarian ideals. I believe in patriotism. I believe in small government.

You cannot say that I�m a paleo-con or a neo-con.

I am simply a conservative.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-