current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




Life and such ...

November 20, 2005 ~ 3:11 a.m.

It's been a while since I gave a personal update in this space, so here's what the dragon of the night has been up to:

I've fallen on some tough luck on the work front lately. I've been struggling to find a good job, and meanwhile, the temp agencies haven't found anything for me. But I remain hopeful that something will present itself. Everybody agrees that I'm highly skilled and I've got a Bachelor of Science degree, yet I can't get a job to save my life. I won't give up hope, but I've become very caustic in my view toward the workplace, because it seems that no matter where I've worked or tried to make a career at, it was like working for the Gestapo. If you don't cut short your lunch breaks, smile and bow to everyone in sight, and follow every single one of the 1,001 rules the company lays down to the letter, then you're out. I can't understand this attitude. Companies need happy workers to perform at their best, but still it seems that these days, the workplace just keeps getting tougher and more impersonal all the time. Now as a conservative, I want to pay my dues to society by working and to be responsible, but I expect a little give-and-take and understanding on the employer's part. If I'm late by only one minute in the morning or I want just five minutes during the day to check my personal e-mails, I really don't think that's asking too much. It's seems that work is designed to make the human existence as miserable and soul-sapping as possible. One needs look no further than the poor woman who was fired from her job because she dared to see her husband off to Iraq.

We're off to France in December. Now that's the last place any sane person would want to be right now, but our destination is Nice (as always), and the city has only seen one night of turbulence. So, fingers crossed that our vacation there won't involve dodging between flaming cars during our excursions. If not, then I shall the make the most of a bad situation by reporting on the 21st century French civil war ...

I turned 36 years of age two weeks ago. Another year further from my youth. But the good news is that I look a decade younger. My health is still good, my waistline is still only 32 inches, and my hair is still thick and plentiful. So, I'm content to concentrate on how I actually look rather than my chronological age.

London saw the warmest October on record, but November is more than making up for that. It's very cold and the trees are finally starting to shed their leaves. We've had to break out the thick winter duvet for the bed.

Lastly, since June, Squirrel and I have been attending a central London nightclub once a month for some hedonistic dancing and fun. This keeps us young. If I can drink, dance and live a totally rock-n-roll lifestyle every month, then I know for certain that I'm not ready yet to be put to pasture.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-