current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




Codeine! And Latino skin

May 08, 2004 ~ 11:56 p.m.

NICE, France�For a few moments, I thought that when I kept typing �Nuce; Frqnce,� it had something to do with the 140 mgs of codeine in my system, but then I remembered that the keyboard at this hotel doesn�t use the QWERTY system. Absolutely nothing is as I am familiar with�letters, punctuation marks and other symbols are completely re-arranged, dropping my normal typing speed of 70 words per minute down to below 30 wpm as a direct consequence.

But yeah, about the codeine�Amsterdam may have legal soft drugs such as marijuana and psychedelic mushrooms, but France has good, strong legal codeine. It is a behind-the-counter drug, and the pharmacist can give you only one box (of 20 pills) per visit. But there are so many drugstores in this city�as with most French cities�that by the time you�ve walked five blocks, you can easily have scored one hundred tablets of opiates that will blast your mind into the stratosphere.

Add some tasty Corsican red wine, with an alcohol content of 12.5 percent, to the equation and we�re well into the ionosphere, my friends.

But that isn�t really what I wanted to talk about �

Earlier tonight, when I was shaving, my wife looked at me with what I�d interpreted as horror. �Jesus flippin� Christ!� she exclaimed.

The razor nearly flew from hand. �What?� I said. �What�s wrong?�

�Hon, you really, really caught the sun today,� she said. After getting over my annoyance that she�d frightened me into believing something terrible had just occurred, I had to admit that she was right to be so surprised.

I must have sunbathed for only slightly more than an hour today, not all that much time. And, even though this is May and this is the Mediterranean, it was not all that warm today�we had a high of 66� F, maybe 68� F. I didn�t think I�d added much color to my pale, sun-starved body.

But I did�I am a mild, painless shade of red which will turn a nice, smooth, sexy golden brown in just a day or two. I honestly don�t know how I do it. I am mostly Irish in terms of my ancestry, and, as anybody with Mick skin knows, you either remain pale or get quite burnt, as indeed I have done in the past.

It would appear that my medium-brown hair and blue eyes are of no consequence�somehow, someway, somewhere along the line, I seem to have molted my former epidermal cover for that of a Latino. I tan quickly and with minimal effort.

Somebody up there must like me.

Well, I need to get back to my room so I can finish my Froggy wine. A tout � l�heure.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-