current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




Be late�or die?

December 17, 2003 ~ 1:37 p.m.

I often find myself intrigued at how people act. Not surprised per se, as I am capable of irrationality at times myself. I am but human. I suppose we could say I�m bemused in a sort of a detached way, a thinking along the lines of, �Hell, I would never do something that stupid.�

For instance, this morning I noticed that just as a number 11 bus was pulling away, a man lunged after the bus, catching onto the handrail and trotting along at fifteen miles an hour until he managed to climb the step into the bus.

I don�t get it. Assuming he lost his grip on the handrail pole and performed an assplant on the asphalt, it is in no way inconceivable that he�d have been rear-ended�if I may speak literally�by a car. What would prompt a man to undertake such actions of such insane idiocy?

I don�t know about you, but I wouldn�t want a snippet in the local newspapers announcing, �Man dies trying to get into work.� I can�t speak for him, but while I like my job and all, it sure as hell is not worth risking my life for.

Who would risk life or limb like that for the sake of fifteen lousy minutes? Why some people must make a life-or-death effort to beat the clock is a sad commentary on the state of our society.

Or perhaps too many people with too little common sense work in the city.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-