current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




�Iraq the Model�: The good news you ain�t getting

July 22, 2004 ~ 10:43 a.m.

�If the British and American Intelligence have made a mistake, and this mistake lead to the decision of the war on Saddam and liberation of Iraq from the hands of what was probably the worst tyranny ever, then what a wonderful mistake! The truth is, Blair was brave in his decision and defied all difficulties in this decision. How can anyone imagine that this was wrong? They gave us back our lost freedom and dignity.��Fakherlddine Sharif (in Iraq)

Listen, all you anti-wars, are you still pettily whining about being lied to, about the fighting of a war for erroneous reasons? Still bitching about being betrayed by your government, about the loss of our respectability among the world community? Do you seriously believe that all Iraqis, and other Arabs and Muslims, hate American (and, to a lesser extent, British) guts? Then you need to go here. Now.

The site is a blog for Iraqis to comment about life in their country in this current uneasy period of transition. For once, put down your copy of The New York Times and turn off CNN and read those voices that you will never hear from any of the major media outlets, because they�re too busy trying to convince you that Vietnam is happening all over again.

Read all about the unsung heroes in this war�the legions of peaceful Iraqis, who just want a normal life, and are grateful for the sacrifices made in flesh and blood that America and Great Britain have made to liberate them.

Perhaps it still won�t convince you. Maybe you�ll still prefer to bang on about missing WMDs. But at least you�ll finally have encountered the voices of genuine Iraqis for whom only one WMD mattered most�Saddam Hussein himself.


More on �cuddle parties�

Call it cruel, but I just can�t stop ranking on the whole concept of �cuddle parties.� (See this entry.) Apart from all the anti-war mush-for-brains that I�ve been haranguing for nearly two years now, I haven�t had anything or anyone to really sink my cynical teeth into. Well, dear reader, I do believe I�ve found it.

I�ve come across some great rejoinders to the whole idea in various random threads:

� Semifinalist for least surprising headline in New York: �Man on Way to Cuddle Party Has Ass Completely Kicked for Him.�

* * *

� Heebies? Check. Jeebies? Roger That.

* * *

� Day One: New York Upstate Penitentiary. Met my cellmate, Bubba. Had cuddle party.

Day Two: Other inmates making fun of the way I walk. Bubba says not to pay them any mind, but I have feelings, damn it.

* * *

� Your friend says: �I�m hosting a cuddle party. Will you come?�

You say: �Go fuck yourself, you ridiculous California-damaged ninny.�

Your friend says: �I wish you wouldn�t be so judgmental and hostile. Cuddle parties are about sharing and intimacy!�

You say: Nothing, because hopefully you'll never speak to them again.

* * *

When I published my entry on cuddle parties on Blogcritics.org, one of the responses I received was equally amusing:

�The people who get into this are probably the same types who got into birth-trauma therapy, or those weird (adult) fetishes for acting like babies and wearing diapers. Equally creepy.�

My latest thoughts on the topic?

�You just know that someday, during one of these cuddle sessions or 'puppy piles,' some flatulent bastard is going to cut one mean mother, and then �believe you me�all assembled will witness true human nature in all its glory. The whole facade of MiHALKO�s lovefests will crumble. Heh, and what I wouldn�t give to be a fly on the wall during such an episode.�

Think about it.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-