current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




So the liberals ignored my challenge�how surprising

March 26, 2003 ~ 1:55 p.m.

Damn, you people have really set the record straight for me. How you�ve inspired me so! In fact, you could say that I�m shocked and awed.

On Monday, I asked a very simple question:

How do Clinton�s wars in Haiti, Somalia and Yugoslavia differ from the war in Iraq, specifically, how are they any less "imperialist" than Dubya�s war?

To this question, I received three replies: Cocktails presented me with the sort of garbage that can easily be read every day in the loony-left Daily Mirror. �Tony B. Liar� is George�s pet poodle and no English person (sane English person?, I feel compelled to ask without smirking at the oxymoronic flavor of the query) she knows has any respect for Bush or Blair. Well, Claire, just so you know how enlightened I was, I tried to join the anti-war movement post-haste, but I was told by the Stop the War Coalition that my IQ was far too low for them. Idiocy quotient, that is. Sorry. I tried.

Then, roklobster contributed by suggesting that it was due to Bush�s �illegitimate� presidency that people are so dead-set against the war. Roklobster meant well and was not speaking for herself. She was merely presenting the current mindset that she feels can account for some of the anti-Bush sentiment. A good point, but it ignored my challenge.

Hot on the heels of this, came Buenacabra�s fiery, oratorical gem, which must be read in its entirety, but the last sentence says it all: �Until they [the protestors] can quote some history, until they've been paying attention to what is being broadcast on TV by Saddam's son's station and until they get over their bias because of the election which results were in the hands of the freakin Supreme Court and not Bush I don't even want to hear their shit.� Now I have no problem with this entry. I only bring it up to call attention to what a truly marvelous piece of work it was. But to readers like Buenacabra, I am only preaching to the choir.

What I wanted was hard, well-thought out, substantiated arguments as to the moral, ethical or principled differences between Clinton�s foreign policy entanglements and the current war. A lot of liberals read me, and so far, in response to this challenge, I�ve received zero replies chock-full of intelligent reasonings�that is to say, reasonings not relying on outdated, clich�d and just plain wrong assertions such as �no blood or oil,� or �America�s the REAL terrorist,� or �Bush was illegitimately appointed president, so this war is illegitimate too.�

Good work, people. I'm very impressed.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-