current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




Laughing without thinking

August 22, 2002 ~ 4:50 p.m.

Sometimes the sense of humor here is enough to make me glad I emigrated.

While making tea, I asked a few co-workers if they wanted a cup. Kevin passed me his mug and said, "If you would, please."

I plopped a tea bag in and stirred it around for two minutes. I poured milk and sugar in and handed the mug back to him.

"Is it strong enough?" I asked.

"Oh, yes. Lovely," Kevin replied. Then: "You seem to have picked up some good habits here."

I knew what he meant. "I always brew it strong. When you get a cup of tea or coffee from me, you don't get short-changed."

Kevin looked up from his mug and deadpanned, "Or sleep?"

That is what I love about English humor. American humor is very direct, sometimes bombastic. I've worked in offices where the delivery of jokes and comments would make a British outsider think everyone was preparing for a comedy contest.

With the British, humor is subtle and casual, dropped into conversation effortlessly. It's done without strain. I have to think carefully before dropping a witicism; for most people I've met here, it's instinctive.

Americans appreciate a laugh as much as anyone. But this one is still learning to laugh without really trying so hard.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-