current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




Fifty hours in hospital

May 16, 2005 ~ 12:50 a.m.

I arrived home from hospital yesterday afternoon, where I�d spent fifty hours. I had three vials of blood taken, dye injected into my body, four X-rays taken of my abdominal region, a saline solution IV drip, and a morphine injection. I was constantly getting my blood pressure and temperature taken as well.

Why? I had a kidney stone. Not just any kidney stone, mind you, but one with a mind to make my living existence pure hell.

I wasn�t new to kidney stones. I had one in June 1999, but although very painful, I only had to endure six hours of pain before it passed. This time was very different.

The pain started Tuesday night and I suffered severe back pain, cramping in my abdomen and I vomited profusely. But by late Wednesday morning, I felt better. I went into work and had a good evening and slept until the pain came back full-force at 2 a.m. Thursday morning. This time, it wouldn�t go away. I could no longer lie down, definitely couldn�t sit, and could only pace around the apartment, moaning profusely. I vomited some more.

I went to see the local doctor who prescribed me some anti-inflammatories, anti-sickness and anti-spasmodics. We were going to go straight to the hospital for a blood test, but there was no way I could have gotten on that bus; the pain was too great. After an hour of being home and having taken the meds, I was still in agony and I simply couldn�t stand it anymore, so I had Squirrel call an ambulance. I�ve never had to have an ambulance in my life before, never had to have paramedics look after me, never spent any appreciable length of time in a hospital. That was about to change.

Let�s interrupt this story just to ask: What are kidney stones? Well, the basics (according to this site): Kidney stones are comprised mostly of calcium oxalate and calcium phosphate. They form when crystals of these mineral salts get trapped in the kidney, forming a stone. This is the most common form of stone, though another type, the struvite stone, forms as a result of infection of the urinary tract. Kidney stones can be hereditary, with the condition known as hypercalciuria most responsible for hereditary-based stone formation. Whites are more likely to be afflicted by kidney stones than blacks, and men have a greater chance of suffering them than women (Liberals: Think about this the next time you wish ill on white males.).

Anyway, I went to Lewisham Hospital first, where I had the blood tests and the X-rays and the saline drip. The ironic thing is that I had turned my head while they took my blood, but while I was still on the saline drip, the nurse informed me that I was to be moved from the A & E unit to RATU (Rapid Assessment and Treatment Unit). The nurse, however, had lost my notes, and as I was still standing up, waiting for the move to RATU, the saline drip backed up. I looked at the tube and there was nothing but pure blood flowing throughout it. I had taken pains not to see my own blood earlier only to be subjected to the sight of a great stream of it now! It�s a wonder I didn�t faint.

While in RATU, I was informed that I�d be referred to the Urology department at Guys Hospital, near London Bridge. I was transported there by a �MedicMan� ambulance and was admitted to the ward. I had yet another X-ray, and another doctor examined me and felt a kidney stone �down there� and said it should pass within the next few hours. I ended up staying there the rest of Thursday night, all of Friday and only left at two in the afternoon yesterday (Saturday). They wanted to keep me to make sure that the antibiotics were helping, that the pain was subsiding and to continue to monitor my blood pressure.

No complains about the treatment, though. It was all very professional. The meals were adequate. The quiet of a hospital ward at night was quite comforting. And the morphine shot was gorgeous. Well, not the shot; it felt like they were tearing my upper arm open. But what that shot contained! Aaahhh, bliss!

So after a lot of blood, much sweat and a few tears, I�m home again and recovering. I even kept my blood-stained hospital gown as a momento. But I have to say, pray hard you never have to suffer kidney stones. To say that they are painful is an infuriating understatement.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-