current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




The week from hell

June 05, 2003 ~ 2:05 p.m.

Oh man, I am getting my ass reamed lately. Imagine going from little interest in what I have to say to suddenly jumping down my throat. Fascinating. Well, I�d be lying if I said I didn�t enjoy it, so thank you very much for the responses. I needed the laughs.

And hey, to the charge a reader made that I live in a glass house? Well, it�s better than living in a goddamned ivory tower.

Thank you!


It really has been the most incredible week. I think I have dropped ten pounds alone from stress, worry and literally running around. If I thought lugging boxes and stacks of huge envelopes stuffed with exam scripts for professors back and forth all day long on a torrid day (Monday) was bad, it only got better yesterday. I had to deliver more envelopes to another campus. This normally involves a nice walk through the park. One problem this time, though:

The rain.

It started coming down like buckets the moment I left the office and would not let up. In my frustration, I got disoriented and ended up by Kensington Palace by the High Street. I wanted north and ended up east. Tourists flock to Kensington Palace every day. But I was not pleased by the sight of it. Not pleased, and most definitely not amused. I ended up getting bloody well soaked. And the temperature had fallen from a balmy 70� to a chilly 59�. My knapsack is strong, however, and did not allow any leakage. My ass would have been reamed a lot stronger than what has been appearing in my guestbook lately if it had. I�ve got to be thankful for small favors.

And I still have yet to confirm student helpers and print examination papers for tests that commence next week. Oh joy.

Believe you me, after this week, with all its stress and exertion and nearly pneumonia-inducing responsibilities, I am going to smoke some joints the size of friggin� cigars in Amsterdam this coming weekend.

If ever I have earned the right to get stoned, it was this week, without a doubt. Thank God for the Dutch and their level-headed approach to a drug far less harmful than the perfectly legal alcohol.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-