current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




You can take your Merry Christmas and stick it up ...!

December 20, 2002 ~ 1:36 p.m.

Last year, I wrote this entry, detailing the meaning of Christmas to me and how I, like most people, would shelve my complaints to get into the holiday spirit. I always generally liked Christmas, but now � I can�t say. Maybe it�s the continued rudeness of people, the extra mile that they won�t go to help you out, the sneers, the general, well, �humanity� that makes up this city and this world that has me jaded. But do we honestly believe that people change just because of a date on the calendar?

I have tried, I assure you, to try to feel not just my usual small measure of Christmas cheer but any. Because for every stupid gimp I have to shove out of my way and every po-faced schlep walking the sidewalks and station tiles of the metro area, I am convinced beyond any lingering doubt as to how full of shit people really are. Blunt, but there you are.

Have they � the crowds, the care-nots, the curmudgeons � dragged me down with them? It�s hard to say. It�s true that I am irascible and difficult to be around at times. Happy � and I mean truly, elated type of happy � moments are few and far between with me. Now, given that I am a miserable mope, it is not surprising that this year my jadedness adds a black background to the colorful Christmas decorations. I have finally snapped. Finally seen the Christmas season for what it is: A compulsive explosion of unadulterated consumerism � good for the economy, bad for your credit � masked by a thin veneer of joy and good tidings. Heh. Have I always been this dumb? It only took me 33 years to figure this one out. How long did it take you?

Now if you love Christmas and all the sappy music, ludicrous games, scandalous gluttony, unreasonable expectations and, above all, the whole stinking charlatanry behind it, then it�s all yours to celebrate as you see fit. I firmly believe that we should be able to say �Merry Christmas� and erect mangers on town squares without fear of offending others. I am not politically correct and I will take my Scrooge act only so far. It may be saying to the world, this is the western �Christian� world�s annual ode to hypocrisy, but damnit it all, it is our right.

Just don�t wish me a Merry Christmas. I don�t want to hear it. I just can�t wait to leave work today and then bar myself in the apartment for five glorious days until I board a plane home for Boston on the 26th. This holiday season has given me a splitting headache.

Merry Christmas? Instead just tell me to fuck off. It may be rude, but I�ll thank you nonetheless for it because it�s far more genuine and in line with the way people really act and think.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-