current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




The "language of love" need not be spoken

December 01, 2005 ~ 5:25 p.m.

Taken from the GCSE French revision guide for British students, but useful to my wife and myself as yet another reference book to help us with our French lessons:

Now then, look at the illustration! How typically French!

In Britain, you would likely be chased out of the neighborhood and would receive a sharp rebuke, and may be arrested. In America, you would definitely be arrested for lewd behavior.

But in France, a shag in the shrubs is de rigueur. As Johnny Depp's character in The Libertine put it, "Fornicating in the streets in Paris is practically compulsory!"

Hey, I know, it's just a silly picture put there to amuse bored 16-year-olds, but I've gotta say, it's damn funny.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-