current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




The writing is on the wall for Old Man Winter

March 17, 2004 ~ 10:58 p.m.

To take a break from hard-core politics, I�d just like to say� gosh, it�s a warm night.

It felt more like the middle of May than March earlier this evening. I couldn�t take my jacket off fast enough, and my shirt was clinging to me when I arrived home from work. I felt so warm that I had to run the electric fan.

To think, just last night we were running the heaters. Now it feels like a late spring/early summer evening. To have ran the heaters tonight would have been torture.

To be fair, it�s not as hot as I�m making out. We had a high of 64�, and when I got home from work, temperatures had probably fallen to the upper 50s. But, given that we�ve had some real cold lately, and that I�ve still got my thick winter blood, it�s no wonder why it feels so balmy.

The longer days and the very mild weather, not to mention the blooming cherry and magnolia trees, the daffodils, and the birdsong, leaves one with no doubt that spring is only a week away.

However, the fact remains: It�s still only March. For those of you feeling envious, you�ll be glad to know that temperatures are going to continue to slide throughout the week and by the weekend, we�ll be looking at the cold and the rain again.

Still, winter is losing its grip. It�s holding on for dear life. Its days are numbered. The evidence was only too strong today.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-