current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




Thirtysomething Johnny Damon breaks out

April 22, 2004 ~ 7:28 p.m.

I find myself fascinated by Red Sox center fielder Johnny Damon. His defensive work and ability to steal many bases is a factor, of course, but not the main one. Check these out and you�ll see why he�s so fascinating:

Johnny Damon in 2002, age 28

Johnny Damon in 2004, age 30

Need I say more? My father opined that he�s going through a �second childhood.� Well, I don�t know about that, but it�s certainly a phase. I would know. I�m in the throes of a similar phase myself.

From about the age of 26, I wore my hair short. And I kept it short right up to the age of 32. Then I grew it long again. I tendered a beard. I discovered Amsterdam and rediscovered the joys of dope.

At 34, my hair is a bit shorter now, I�m clean-shaven again and the dope is an occasional thing only. But there�s no doubt in my mind�nor, I suppose, anyone else�s�that I�m trying to revive the me of ten years ago. I didn�t always like that version of me, but he was young, the future still seemed like a long, open road and the possibilities, as the saying goes, endless.

Once I entered my thirties, I had settled down. I became so ingrained to it�to the skulduggery of work, finances, domestic responsibilities�that I felt stuck in a rut. So I broke out, Johnny Damon-style.

Second childhood? More like second collegehood.

You may sniff haughtily and say, �Oh, ND, that�s just the life of a ballplayer,� but you wouldn�t find Damon sporting that look with the New York Yankees. Steinbrenner long ago passed an edict declaring that his players would, with the sole exception of a trim moustache, grow no facial hair. And certainly nobody playing for the Yankees feels any less of a superstar than those playing for the Red Sox. But the Sox know when to pull together�they all willingly shaved their heads during their post-season run last October in a show of solidarity (the nuptials-bound Nomar Garciaparra was the exception), and it�s certainly better to have the choice.

Dennis Eckersley had hair streaming out from behind his cap; why shouldn�t Damon? And I never heard anyone accuse the Eck of going through a second childhood. The dude pitched until the age of 43, so if a little long hair is what it takes for longevity in the majors, I say go for it.

Frankly, as long as Damon keeps robbing the opposition of extra-base hits or even homers, he can become the Wolfman for all I care. And I more than certainly understand. He�s in his thirties now�he�s entitled.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-