current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




I can think of better ways to spend $200

February 05, 2004 ~ 9:03 p.m.

Bonus second entry of the day!

My wife just brought home the latest Additions catalogue, and she announced, �Honey, there�s a jacket here I�d like to get you and which I think you�d look really good in.�

�Oh?� I said.

�Yeah, I think you�ll really like it!� Bless her, she was so excited. She opened the catalogue up to the page and this is what she showed me:

I nearly spurt the milk I was drinking across the kitchen counter (nearly). Christ, look at it! It�s �110 ($200)�and it looks like something a hippy from my parents� generation would have worn to a 1972 George McGovern rally.

�Ummm, hon � me wearing that jacket?� I said. �What�s wrong with this picture?�

I had to point out the decals to her, especially the flag on the side before she caught on. �Ooooh,� she said in rather deflating fashion. �Sorry, hon, I just saw the American flag.�

I must say, I find my wife�s poor powers of observation quite cute sometimes. I kissed her.

�Thank you for thinking of me anyway,� I replied.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-