current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




Sunday in Amsterdam

February 15, 2004 ~ 2:07 p.m.

AMSTERDAM, The Netherlands -- The view from the room is incredible. I could sit in the little sitting room, propped up in the comfortable armchair, for hours and watch the bikes and the boats and coots in the canal, people propping maps open, wondering where they're at, with my ubiquitious headphones over my ears and a skunk joint hanging from my mouth.

Yes, this can surely be what it's all about.

We are located close to the Leidseplein district and it is probably second only to Dam Square/Red Light District for full-blown Amsterdam-type action. Very groovy place.

I had gone to the De Rokerij coffeeshop just after our dinner at this Italian place and got my material. I had three -- three -- hits and I was plastered. This home-grown Dutch stuff, tendered under strong artificial light, is the business.

I've got a half-pint of Heineken by my side as I report from a coffeeshop. A huge painting of Bob Marley is situated above me. The music is soulful reggae.

And this is Sunday in Amsterdam ...

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-