current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




This is going to take some acclimitization

December 28, 2002 ~ 2:22 p.m.

I tried to go for a run this morning. I honestly did.

I last ran on Christmas morning, along rain-slick asphalt and through fog. But the early morning was very mild. When I got back to the flat, I told the wife, �Now I could deal with winter if it was like this.�

�Yes,� she answered. �More like a winter on the south of France out there.�

Well, knowing to expect weather that was more Nome than Nice, I put on a thermal t-shirt, two sweatshirts, long johns underneath my running tights and a thick hat and gloves. I stepped out the door and stood on the back step.

And after three seconds, it was as much as I could do to keep from hollering:

JESUS CHRIST,

IT�S

COLD!!!

The temperature was 15�F (-9�C).

Then I had visions of my Dad appearing behind me, telling me not to be such a wuss, that he�s had to deal with this type of insane chill every morning now for nearly 3 months. So I slunk back upstairs to my vaporizer-warmed room and went back to sleep.

I am going to run tomorrow morning and every morning here thereafter. I even want to attempt a 15-mile route to my grandmother�s place in the central Massachusetts town of Maynard. But, I just needed one more day. Just one more.

Now excuse me while I train for tomorrow�s early morning run by jumping head-first into a snowbank.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-