current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




Can I go home now?

May 18, 2002 ~ 10:11 p.m.

Went out to have dinner in the Beckenham Rat & Parrot pub tonight and, as luck would have it, found ourselves sitting across from a group of Americans.

They were talking in unselfconsciously loud voices so that I could hear the content of their discussion. Some of it was office-type gossip, but then one of the men said, �So the Nets are in the Eastern Conference Finals, who�d have thought. I mean, Bill,� he said, nudging his buddy, �can you believe that? The Nets?� Then �Bill,� or whatever his name was, said he�d been to ESPN.com to check the latest sports news.

Suddenly, I wanted to just collapse from homesickness. I can see that I�ve accepted life here � at least I no longer to into near panic-attacks at the thought of being here, as I used to do in the early days � but it�s apparent from tonight that it�ll never go away.

I miss having buddies to talk sports � good, real American sports � with; talking about the Nets reminded me that I�m missing being able to watch my beloved Celtics take on said Nets in the Conference Finals; I miss nightly baseball games (the Boston-Seattle game that I taped last Sunday from Channel 5 is the first game I�ve seen for nearly a year); and, more than anything, I envied their accents which are not coming under threat of changing like mine is, and their plane tickets back home.

Worse than anything was the feeling that although this was a group of people I could identify with in an instant, I couldn�t just approach them out of the blue. I longed to be part of their conversation, but for the sake of keeping up appearances of sanity, I had to keep it to myself and just be content with eavesdropping.

�How do you know they�re not students and here for a few years?� my wife asked when she noticed the dour look that I was no doubt wearing and I told her what was wrong.

Oh, real simple, isn�t it? Here�s someone who has zero idea what it�s like to be away from the land, language and life you�ve always known, loved and thought was normal, and she�s telling me that they could be here for just a few years. Life can be so simple to those who've never known sacrifice.

Put it this way: If I knew I was going home after only a few years, I�d be psyched. But I am probably here for the rest of my life. And in my mind, life in England will always be �home,� but not home.

And I want to go home.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-