current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




The London life

April 25, 2002 ~ 5:09 p.m.

A brief article in yesterday's The London Metro entitled "We hate the journey but love London," detailed the ins and outs, pros and cons of living and working in the capital.

As someone who is an official bona fide London resident, I have to say that this article sums up what I already knew. This city can be boiled down neatly into repeated daily experiences: constantly delayed or cancelled commuter-rail trains, long ticket lines (queues), pushy people, fraying tempers, mumbled station announcements, pauses on the tracks (either trains or subways) with no explanation for the delay provided, trash-littered sidewalks, achingly high-priced goods and services (a value-added tax, VAT, of 17.5 percent doesn't help), soaring house prices, and an unparalled surge in crime.

But ...

I can also say that there is more green space and history/culture here per square yard than any other city. Not even New York City can touch London in terms of nightlife and theater. When the people aren't pushy, they are usually approachable and have a killer sense of humor. The working atmosphere in the city can be stifling, but also rewarding and challenging. London-based companies can afford to be picky in their hiring practices, but also ensure quality employees, plus Londoners get what no other Briton does: London Weighting compensation in their paychecks, an nice extra �2,140 ($3,292). (Of course, let's not mention how necessary this compensation for city workers is.)

There are times when this city drives me close to tears. But at the end of the day, I still consider myself lucky to be here. And there is nowhere else on earth, with the sole exception of my native Boston, that I'd rather be.

My accent belies the assertion, but I am now a Londoner.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-