current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




See you at the virtual ballgame

November 29, 2001 ~ 5:06 p.m.

I spend most of my free time mucking about on my PlayStation. Spyro the Dragon and Gran Turismo are games I enjoy, but what I love playing the most is a baseball game called MLB 2001. It mimics the real game, with graphically detailed images of all the current ballparks and of the professional players themselves (at least, insofar as how the rosters looked at the beginning of the 2000 season; the disc is dated a bit). It is especially enjoyable to see a game in a real ballpark during the dark months of winter, even if the �game� consists of computer-simulated images on a screen.

Anyway, being from Massachusetts, I am a Red Sox fan (Real Yankees support the Red Sox). And what the Sox can do in this virtual baseball reality�as opposed to their always-disappointing, real-life reality�is just amazing. I don�t have one hitter in my line-up currently hitting below .400. Some box scores I�ve racked up look more like good team vs. bad team NFL scores: 33-0, 34-1, 38-2, 37-5, etc. It doesn�t happen all the time, but when scores like this do occur, it�s insane. Thirty-eight hits in a game would make headlines, never mind runs. But I�ve done that, in just one game�I scored 38 unbelievable, gob-smacking runs (it was against the Cleveland Indians, in case you�re curious).

Some other facts about my team: We lead both leagues in almost every hitting, fielding and pitching category except stolen bases and walks. I haven�t mastered the art of stealing bases yet. But who cares? My pitching staff has an average ERA of just under 3.00, and the team�s combined batting average is around .500! Now, I ask you, should I be concerned about stolen bases? Mind you, Red Sox fans would complain about the team�s lack of speed on the bases, even if this virtual team were brought into the real world, because Sox fans are never satisfied. The bitching on sports talk-radio would continue. I can hear it now: �Listen, guys, you don�t know what you�re talking about. So the kid hit four home runs in the game, everyone knows it�s production on the bases that count!�

Have I mentioned that after 76 games played on the season so far, my record is 73-3? Last season, I ended the season at 158-4. If you thought this year�s Seattle Mariners were impressive, they�d look like Little Leaguers against this club.

The best part of all is that the first baseman is modeled after yours truly. You see, at the beginning of the season, MLB 2001 allows you to create your own player. So I gave him my first and middle names and it�s pretty much like rooting for myself. I must be good at providing encouragement to the kid, because he's hitting .588 with 32 home runs and 145 RBI. And the season isn�t even quite half over yet! Needless to say, yours truly will be starring in the virtual All-Star Game in a couple of days' time. I was the MVP of the Game last year.

Of course, who�s bragging? My team�s statistics may be totally insane, but it�s just a computer game. It�s meaningless. But it does provide a valuable form of escape. There�s nothing better than grabbing the hand-held control panel and watch my sluggers swing for the fences or my pitchers rack up their 20th strikeout. It�s long since become an addiction for me. I am the sort of person who relies quite heavily on mental escapism, and this game provides it. And so what do you get when you cross an almost fanatical love of baseball with a compulsive need for escape?

A team like none other.

Godspeed, virtual boys of summer. You sure do me proud.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-