current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




Summer in October?

October 14, 2001 ~ 12:29 a.m.

Images of playing wiffle ball and badminton in humid 77 degree weather this late in the autumn will stick with me for quite some time.

I originate from a part of the globe where this would not be unusual. But these days, I live in London, England. England is famous for its murky, cool and damp weather. Having a summer-like day here this late in the season is very much the exception, not the rule.

I have made a good life for myself here. I am an American married to a Brit, simply put. Since I have settled down here, this little apartment has gained: a new TV, an answering machine, a tumble dryer, a washing machine, a new bed, a Persian rug and most importantly, a computer. My mate loves to joke that only American $$$ made this possible, but what can I say? I work hard for my stuff. She was living in the Dark Ages when I arrived and now we're as modern as any other household. I'm proud of this achievement. I don't live and die for status symbols, but this is a good indication of my success.

The hardest part, however, is overcoming homesickness. I love the States and life in England takes some getting used to. But there are worse places I could have emigrated to, I suppose.

My idea of a good day is finding any little slice of home, such as I did today. I discovered for the first time that the convenience store up the street sells Cape Cod potato chips. It doesn't take much to make my day!

Warm weather in October is just the icing on the cake ...

stay tuned

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-