current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




A cure for Tube strikes

September 27, 2002 ~ 1:45 p.m.

On Wednesday, the Tube (a.k.a. the Underground) � for Americans, this is London�s subway � held yet another strike. I woke up at 5 a.m. that day, knowing I�d need an early start to avoid the hassle of long bus lines and outrageous traffic jams. My plan was to run from Victoria Station to South Kensington, where I work. I will say this: Hyde Park at dawn is breathtaking. Colorful autumn foliage set against a backdrop of wide green lawns, softly glowing lampposts, and the Serpentine lake made plodding the two miles in 45-degree cold with a 10-pound knapsack on my back worth it. And, for me, there was something very surreal about crossing Park Lane and running past Wellington Arch. Even after all this time, I sometimes still cannot get over the fact that this is now my city. London can be great at 6 a.m.

In fact, not only is this my plan to deal with Tube strikes from now on, I have made it regular practice. I ran to work from Victoria on Thursday and yet again today.

Even better, I am now taking my swims immediately after my running. The pool is serene at that hour and the Jacuzzi is not just warm but numbingly hot (I suspect it loses heat as the day wears on). I have had the locker room to myself all three mornings so far. It is much more preferable to swimming at lunchtime.

And with the combination of running and swimming (plus free weights at night), I have never felt so fighting fit or refreshingly awake. This is living.

Have I just indicted myself as a fitness freak? Some would argue that it�s too much exercise at once, but I disagree. I have a competitive nature. Besides, as I�m just a month-and-a-half shy of turning the big 3-3, it�s gives me great peace of mind to know that there�s still a lot of strength and energy left in this vintage 1969 model body of mine.

So to the selfish, militaristic, striking Underground twits, I say thank you. Thanks for forcing me to discover the pleasure of strenuous early morning workouts and seeing central London at the break of dawn. It is a lifestyle change that probably never would have been possible without you. And I am proud to say, I am not one of the poor chumps whose life you seriously disrupted or ruined that day.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-