current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




This is way too ironic ...

August 17, 2004 ~ 2:30 p.m.

LONDON, U.K.�You want a definition of irony that'll knock the socks off you, dear reader? It was defined for me yesterday morning. Luckily for me, I was already lying in bed so it couldn't actually floor me:

I arrived home from my Boston vacation at around 10 a.m., British time. The wife and I were just settling down for a nap together when the phone rang. It was the temp agency ringing for me.

Now remember how I used to work for a university for two-and-a-half years, and how I recently left my job there? Well, imagine my surprise when they told me that they had a month's assignment at the school I just quit working for!

My wife knew from the way my eyes lit up where I'd been assigned.

"Did they just tell you to report to �?"

"They did," I interrupted.

Can you imagine�the same college, and in the Human Resources department no less! Not the same office or even the same building�that would be more irony than I could stand.

And so I'm back on campus, what was my stomping ground for 2-� years, as a temp. How surreal is that?

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-