current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




You gotta love Sunday nights

January 13, 2003 ~ 12:02 a.m.

I am sitting here at midnight with a glass of red wine, the bottle itself just one glassful shy of being killed, and thinking about the workweek coming up. I'd rather not, but it plays a rather prominent factor in my life. Must earn those $s or in my case, �s. Same thing. Money is money.

In fact, I can already picture the scenario seven hours from now. I'll wake up from some funky dream involving work, thus leaving me feeling totally unrested and stressed. One good thing about my dreams is that I can, with total impunity, go completely apeshit with people. In this way, the dreams have the advantage over real life.

Nevertheless, that alarm will cut through my senses like a butcher's knife at 7:45 in the a.m. I will wake, wondering why I'm holding my hands up in a curled position and a moment later discover that the student I'm strangling is only a figure of my subconscious imagination. I will even remember a bit of the conversation:

Haughty student: "But why do I have to go to Registry for a letter of reference?"

Me: "Because it's College policy."

Student: "But I received an e-mail telling me I could get it at the Undergraduate Office."

Me: "Who sent you the e-mail?"

Student (a bit embarassed): "I don't remember."

Me: "Well, I'm telling you, you have to go to Reistry for that."

Student (regaining his haughty attitude): "Why?"

Me: "BECAUSE I SAID SOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!" At this point, I leap over the counter with my arms stretched out, aimed for a truculent 20-year-old's neck.

And the soundtrack to my trip from the bitter, tortured and work-obsessed subconscious to bitter, tortured and fuck-work consciousness will likely be Harry Nilsson singing "Gotta Get Up."

Up and away

Got a big day

Sorry I can't stay

I gotta run, run, yeah

Sing it, brother.

To "Gotta Get Up," I am likely to think "up yours." I will drift off until 7:50. Oh yeah, those extra five minutes are so refreshing. Not.

Well, I am about to put my own twist on the ditty � "Gotta Get to Bed." See you.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-