current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




Why now???

January 03, 2003 ~ 2:27 p.m.

This is it. I board a plane for London tonight. I leave in two hours for the airport.

On New Year�s Day, airports nationwide began their thorough search procedures, meaning that suitcases can�t be locked in case they need to manually check them. It seemed that it was this way last year, long queues to search luggage. I have absolutely nothing to hide, but I have to wonder why I am bothering to fold my clothes when they�re probably going to just tussle them aside in search of anything untoward.

Oh well � bigger concerns loom. It�s snowing. It snowed, fast and fierce, just the night before I arrived. And now it�s snowing just two hours before I have to leave for the airport. I was biting my nails wondering how cooperative the weather in Boston was for landing, and now I am wondering just how cooperative things will be come 7:25 in the evening for take-off. I would have liked a little snow to watch and perhaps even to make some bucks helping my BIL to plow. Why now, damnit? Freakin' weather.

If I have any considerable time on my hands between check-in and boarding, I will surely go back into Boston, just as I did this summer. And least I haven�t got to wait seven months as I did when I left just after last New Year�s. I�ll be back in April.

Hung out with my other good friend Rob last night. Stayed at his place, shooting the shit and watching Monty Python�s Flying Circus episodes, till far too late. No wonder I�m still waiting for my laundry to dry. At least I�m not hung over (and what a bitch that�d be.)

See you in London �

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-