current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




What the ...? Snow!

January 08, 2003 ~ 4:30 p.m.

In one of the entries I wrote whilst at home in Boston last week, I said, �we sure don�t see any snow in London; I stand a greater chance of winning the Lottery.� Well, I�m no richer today than I was yesterday, but there�s three inches of snow on the ground out there and probably even more in the suburbs.

On Tuesday morning, I pulled open the curtains and looked out at nearly two inches of snow carpeting the rooftops, lawns and sidewalks of our suburban community. By the time I got into the city, however, I discovered that there had been no snowfall there. Today was a different story. Not only did it snow all morning long and into the early afternoon. Accumulation was rapid � three inches on the ground by noon.

When I went out during lunchtime, dozens upon dozens of students on campus were running around, shouting and firing snowballs here, there and everywhere. Queen�s Lawn looked like a battlefield. I was in hysterics. It�s amazing to watch what fresh snow does to people. Even I was in high spirits and launched a few snowballs at trees and statues on my way down the street toward Hyde Park. The really �laddish� types were making snowballs four feet high and blocking the sidewalks with them. Everywhere you looked, young men were rolling massive snowballs around, positioning them in strategic locations.

It�s not that this never happens in Boston either; you get kids running outdoors within five minutes of a fresh snowfall to sled and fight with snowballs. But the feeling was far more electric today because again, snow is so rare here. And as for snow of the sort we had today � I feel as though I�ve witnessed a once-every-hundred-years phenomenon.

Now the only question that remains is, how long will this snow on the ground last? I�m not a betting man, but I wager it�ll be gone by the weekend, by the start of next week at the latest.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-