current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




Think before you sneeze

January 28, 2004 ~ 12:25 a.m.

They�re at it again, folks. The uplifters, the prohibitionists, the pious, that is. I�ve talked so much about drugs that everyone knows where I stand. But this is unbelievable. This is what we get for living in a society with its head wedged squarely up its collective ass.

Honestly. If they can whip cold medications, a perfectly legal product, off the shelf and behind lock-and-key�making us beg for something to stop the sniffles�they�re perfectly capable of coming after your coffee maker next. After all, to be truly effective as a good, patriotic, working American, you must operate as miserably as those who set our drug policies. Need caffeine to get through the day? Tough. It�s a drug. The sooner you face your addiction, the better off you�ll be. Trust us. We�ll throw you in jail if you don�t. Twenty years, buster.

When it comes to deceiving the public on the true facts about drugs, America could reap rewards. I can just imagine some DARE mommy grieving, �I tried to stop my baby from taking that pseudoephedrine tablet, but he insisted: �Mom, I�ve got to go to work.� Oh, if only we had greater sick benefits in this country, he could have had the day off. I mean, he had a stuffy nose and a bit of a headache, for God�s sake! And it was that cold medication that led to his trying that joint, I just know it! Oh, my God! Oh the horror! Bless his heart, he was only seventeen!�

Thank you, Nanny State and Big Daddy Government, for handing down to us irresponsible peons yet another edict. Gee, aren�t you glad to be an American taxypayer?

Cold medications: The next front in this lunatic war on drugs. Now I have truly seen everything.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-