current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




Anti-war residue and the Australia stain

May 25, 2003 ~ 7:15 p.m.

I had a compelling dream this morning. I was caught up in the midst of an anti-war protest and although the people were well behaved, just piously shuffling along wordlessly, they were carrying signs that read OH MY GOSH SHOOT THE TROOPS.

Now this would be rather funny if not for the sad fact that a significant segment of the anti-war movement actually did feel this way.


When I walked into the kitchen to make a cup of tea, I noticed a red wine stain on the kitchen sink porcelain. I was just about to wipe it off when I stopped dead in my tracks. It looked exactly like Australia. What I mean is that the stain looked exactly like the shape of the Australian continent�there was the gentle curve along Western Australia, the two peaks of the Northern Territory, the other curve of Queensland and New South Wales, the gentle line of Melbourne and the state of Victoria, and the inlet around Adelaide and South Australia. It was perfect, it was exactly like looking at Australia from the Space Shuttle. Now just imagine if I�d seen that while stoned! Could have been heavy, man.

I am seriously thinking that this is a positive omen that we�re going to Australia in the near future!

Or maybe it�s just an indication that I should drink more Aussie wine.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-