current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




Scenario for a perfect White House

February 07, 2003 ~ 1:59 p.m.

Well, I hope you all enjoyed the brief foray into comedy via our friend Gusty. Now it�s time to get a bit serious again:

I was reading La-the-sage�s diary about the platform on which she�d run for President and was quite amused by her glee at pissing off the �angry white men.� Hmmm � I guess black or Hispanic or Asian men never get angry. Silly me, we�ve got to be ever so politically correct around minorities. Of course, minority men don�t get angry�they just get happily challenged sometimes.

But I stood in respectful awe at this self-described liberal feminist�s take on guns, taxes and government waste.

On the subject of cutting back government, she writes: �Government would get a major reality check and accountability would be the name of the game. The GOA would be scarier than the IRS and Satan combined. This accountability goes for every governmental agency, not just the Defense Department.� By every agency, I take it she means the ATF, the EPA and Department of Education too. If so, then bless her soul. It�s exactly what I would do.

On taxes, the Sage reports: �If every income generating person and business coughed up just 15% the government would have plenty of go-juice and the economy would flourish.� Whoa! Not even I ever dared to suggest 15 percent! I have eagerly supported and argued in favor of a universal 17% flat tax for years, a fair tax system for all involved, but 15 percent! Even better. No need to slash the IRS along with other government agencies, this would see to that automatically. Sign me up for this proposal.

On guns: �I�m not anti-gun. I just think that if a dog needs a license, so do gun owners. You�re going to have to register your guns too � The Second Amendment guarantees your right to bear arms, it does not guarantee the right to own an unregistered nuke and keep it under your bed.� Wonderful stuff.

She also proposes to take no bunk from �despots, dictators, war lords, and religious zealots.� Without a war, which she opposes, I don�t at all see how this is possible, but it certainly looks good written down.

Good job, ma�am.

� But I�d encourage a Supreme Court re-think on abortion, limiting legal abortions to cases of rape or a mother�s life being in danger only.

� Bring Ireland and the U.K. and possibly even Denmark into NAFTA.

� Support Hungary, the Czech Republic, Poland, Romania in their bids for inclusion into the European Community. If you cannot beat them, shake the institution up from the inside by allowing these pro-American European nations in, nations who haven�t forgotten that it was Thatcher and Reagan that rescued them from the grip of the Soviets.

� Continue unwavering support to Israel.

� Keep defense spending adequate to meet the military�s needs. No defense cuts, however. (Enough damage occurred during the Clinton administration.)

� Take the approach that welfare is a temporary assistance program, not a lifestyle.

� Repeal inane laws and change the judicial policy that give marijuana users harsher sentences than violent criminals.

� Encourage and protect the Federal Government�s right to enact the death penalty.

� Find a more effective and frugal alternative to environmental protection than the Superfund project.

� Welcome immigration but enact official English policies.

� Do my best to limit our role as �policeman of the world,� get the U.S. out of the WTO and the U.N., and cease funds to the IMF and World Bank.

� End for good capital gains taxes.

I�m sure there�s so much more I could do, but I need to get back to my real job. �Tain�t a perfect world, after all �

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-