current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




Une autre notice � Paris

September 07, 2003 ~ 12:28 p.m.

PARIS, France - Damnit, these must be the slowest computers on earth. I just had to pay for une autre thirty minutes because time ran out before I could post this entry. It also does not help that French keyboards, which I alluded to last night, are totally different - they do not use the QWERTY system here.

The bells are ringing as I sit in an internet caf� in the shadow of the Saint Laurent church. The wife and I went inside for a look-see, and certainly it is charming inside in that quasi-Middle Ages way (I strongly suspect it was built only in the 19th century), but we had wandered straight into the middle of Mass. I can't explain myself during Catholic eulogy, and so we made our apologetic exit.

This area of Paris, the Boulevard de Strasbourg in the 10th arrondissement, is very interesting. The hotel was great, but loonies abound around here. Just last night, as we returned to the hotel fresh from dinner, a man high on something playfully grabbed me and kept on trotting along. He hadn't stolen anything; he was just mucking about.

I am down to only 25 euros, so I suspect it's time to head back to the airport. London is calling ...

� bient�t!

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-