current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




A note � Paris

September 06, 2003 ~ 9:20 p.m.

PARIS, France - The French can really present a challenge, but I actually mean that in a nice way. When we touched down at Charles de Gaulle airport this afternoon, I had steeled myself for what I expected would be punishment, touriste americain style. (If you have not experienced descent while high on Valium, I highly recommend it.)

My idea of dealing with acrimonious encounters - of which I expected a veritable plentitude - would be to display the Stars and Stripes decal that I keep in my transport card holder to any hecklers and watch as they screamed "Sacre bleu," and melt into nothingness � la the Wicked Witch of the West. But the pharmacists, shop owners and waiters have been tr�s gracious to us on this fine, sunny 73� Saturday.

Now, if you'll excuse me, I've got a bottle of vin rouge to drink - and this keyboard fran�ais is driving me crazy.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-