current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




One week later ...

March 02, 2004 ~ 11:55 p.m.

The tragedy that occurred between Sky and the two rat babes Jade and Zo� is now a week old, but we have made great strides since that terrible weekend. The wife was at first amazed that I was more forgiving toward Sky than she herself was, but last Wednesday she sent me an e-mail at work that announced:

I LOVE SKY!!!

And that�s when I realized that things would get back to normal, or as close as we could come, regarding our relationship with Sky. If anything, the healing that took place this past week showed us that we still have very strong feelings for her.

Last Wednesday night, we took the following photo of her:

It is impossible not to love that critter. She is still very loving toward us and we unhesitatingly reciprocate that affection. The wife and I spend about half-an-hour each night scratching her behind the ears, and she just loves it. She still relishes her evening-tide romp around the living room.

The forces of nature are dark and mysterious and though we will never totally understand why Sky killed the babies, we know that to hold an animal to human standards of behavior would be supremely ridiculous. No matter how domesticated an animal may appear to be, that touch of wild is always with them. Sky may not even have meant to do it. After all, I did say that Sky looked very perplexed when I first discovered the unfortunate carnage.

Carnage or not, things have slowly gotten back to normal around here. The babies have had their burial and Sky is still our little girl. And the further we get away from the terrible thing that happened, the better.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-