current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




This summer is the proof against �global warming�

July 15, 2004 ~ 3:02 p.m.

This has probably been the worst July I�ve ever witnessed�or, to be more precise, lived through�so far. It�s been mostly cloudy, misty, rainy, and unusually cool (even for Britain). The stress of such shitty weather is really starting to accumulate on the faces of already harried Londoners. In short, it�s been awful. Global warming? Kiss my back side, if you'd be so kind.

But, yesterday was strange: After yet another cool and rainy morning, the sun broke out for a bit and�gosh, was it humid. By the time I left work, the temperature was only 72�F, but the dew point was 66�, a humidity level of about 92 percent. Very muggy indeed�or as muggy as we�ve been all year.

I like it. We need more of this sort of weather. Are you listening up there?


Introducing the Hitch

I don�t seriously know who would actually take notice were I not to point it out, but the reader may nonetheless notice that there�s a new picture/link at the bottom of my page, aligned with my pro-Bush and �Legalise Cannabis� banners. (The cannabis banner links to the Common Sense for Drug Policy website.)

The man�s face to the right of the cannabis banner is that of journalist, writer and social critic Christopher Hitchens. Not only is the dude devastatingly handsome (murrr �!), but he is a damn good read. I don�t agree with everything he says�he�s a liberal�but he delivers his prose with such crushing wit and backs up his arguments with such a surfeit of sources, references and proof, you can�t help but want to agree with him on everything.

Click on his face and you�ll be referred to his website. Read the Hitch�s work. If he�s good enough for this dragon of the night, he�s good enough for you.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-