current | archives | profile | notes | contact | rings | host




Chicago, my kinda town!

May 07, 2005 ~ 4:40 a.m.

And now for something completely different:

entry 1160
name: Saoirse
email:
url: http://
message:
your a sexist cunt and a patriotic twat, grow up
date: 2:49 pm - Friday,May 6, 2005

Oh dear! Another satisfied customer, to be sure. Let�s have some fun with this, shall we? Firstly, it�s �you�re,� short for �you are.� Consider that the start of the English language course you so desperately need. Secondly, does anyone know the meaning of Saoirse? Try this for starters. And I�m a patriotic twat? Thirdly, don�t trust anyone who tries to demean you as a sexist but uses the word �cunt� to describe you. Not the best example of a mentally stable person, in my humble opinion. Ask my loving wife how much of a sexist I am, why don�t you? Lastly, thanks for leaving an e-mail or web site address too. You�re clearly not a coward, are you?

Well, we never made it to Milwaukee, as I�d planned, but at least there�s next time. And I know they�ll be a next time. As our hosts Gregg and Cathy put it, we�ll always have a second home in Chicago.

On Wednesday, we went to see the city proper. Cathy parked the car by the suburban El station of Cumberland and we took that Blue Line train all the way to Washington in the heart of downtown. I was pleasantly surprised to find out that Chicago does have underground subway stations, in addition to the above ground and elevated ones.


Blue Line Washington-Randolph station

Chicago has a comfortable feel to it, just like Boston has�no feeling of menace as with New York City. We walked up ritzy Michigan Avenue to the Tribune Tower. This is a building I�d long wanted to see, ever since learning about it in an American Architecture class in college fifteen years ago. It�s every bit as beautiful as I�d expected it would be. It�s one of the loveliest and most fascinating edifices I�ve laid eyes on.


The Tribune Tower

We stopped by WGN Radio, on the ground floor of the tower and chatted briefly with talk-show host Steve Cochran. We thought we were on the air, but it turns out that we weren�t. Still, it was great to talk with a well-known Chicagoan. Cochran was amused by my Red Sox cap. (I received absolutely no trouble for being a Boston fan. Again, very much unlike New York!)

We then walked back down Michigan Avenue and strolled around Millennium Park, which is interesting to say the least. The view of the city was fabulous:


Millennium Park

Then we walked down State St and hopped the Blue Line back to the suburban town of Elmhurst. In addition to our five-hour trip to Olney, we saw quite a bit of the state of Illinois, from the big city to small-town America. It�s a trip I won�t forget. Gregg and Kathy know a lot of people and they were all glad to make our acquaintances. The wife and I felt like celebrities.

Although I will always proudly belong to Boston, I have taken the hearty, friendly people of Chicago to my heart. If Chicago is my second spiritual home, then I am downright honored. It�s a truly wonderful city.

Many apologies to Eileen (Livefan91200). We wanted to meet you, we really did. But there was simply no time. We stuck to a tight schedule. But we will try to catch up with you next time. And, as I say, there will be a next time.

� M.E.M.

[Sign My Guestbook] [View My Guestbook]
Powered by E-Guestbooks Server.

Copyright � 2001-2007 by M.E. Manning. All material is written by me, unless explicitly stated otherwise by use of footnotes or bylines. Do not copy or redistribute without my permission.

Old Cinders | Fresh Fire

AMERICA FOR TRUE AMERICANS!

-